Did you know? Child Abuse/Neglect Reports Statistics:
In 2009, in Nassau County, There were 6,404 reports Of child abuse & neglect
In 2009, in Suffolk County, there were 9,536 reports Of child abuse & neglect
That’s over 15,000 reports on Long Island alone, and a total of 161,580 in New York State.
Nationally, in 2007, 3.5 million reports of child abuse & neglect were recorded.
Each year in the U.S., close to 1 million children are confirmed victims of Child abuse or neglect.
The total cost of child abuse & neglect to our nation, in 2007 dollars, is over 100 billion dollars
Types of Maltreatment Substantiated
(Please note: some children were victims of more than one type of maltreatment)
Physical Abuse: 22%
Sexual Abuse: 8%
Emotional Abuse: 4%
(Other includes abandonment, congenital drug addiction, threats of harm, and other situations)
(Statistics obtained from the National Center on Child Abuse and Neglect (NCCAN) of the Administration on Children, Youth and Families at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Prevent Child Abuse America, and the Nassau County and Suffolk County and Departments of Social Services - Offices of Child Protective Services.)
General Guidelines on Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect
An abused child is one who:
Is less than 18 years of age and whose parent or other person legally responsible for his/her care inflicts or allows to be inflicted serious physical injury by other than accidental means, creates or allows to be created substantial risk of such injury, or commits or allows to be committed a sex offense against such a child.
A neglected (maltreated) child is one who:
Is less than 18 years of age and whose physical, mental or emotional condition has been impaired or is in danger of becoming impaired due to parents' failure to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter, medical care or education, proper supervision or guardianship; infliction of excessive corporal punishment; or abandonment of child.
Who Should Report Abuse and Maltreatment?
Any person who has reasonable cause to suspect child abuse or maltreatment should report this information to the New York State Child Abuse and Maltreatment Register Public Hotline at 1-800-342-3720, at any time.
Should a person be certain of abuse or maltreatment before reporting?
No. The law does not require absolute certainty. It does require reasonable cause to suspect abuse or maltreatment.
Can a person incur liability by reporting suspected abuse?
Any person or institution making a report of suspected child abuse or maltreatment in good faith has immunity from civil or criminal liability which might otherwise be incurred.
What happens to the report I make to the Public Hotline?
The report will be relayed to the local child protective service in the county Department of Social Services. The Protective Service worker must make a prompt and accurate determination to prevent any further harm to the child's welfare. Court action will be initiated when it is in the best interest of the child.